Spotlight on Success

  • Each month during the school year, the Washoe County School District Board of Trustees hosts a Spotlight on Success Ceremony to highlight the achievements of students, teachers, and staff in the district. 

    It's also a great opportunity to meet and mingle with the Trustees. 

    For the 2018-2019 School Year, each Spotlight ceremony will be held at and will highlight a different middle school in the district. 

    • September 4, 2018: Mt. Rose K - 8 at 5 p.m. 
    • October 16, 2018 Dilworth Middle School at 5 p.m. 
    • December 4, 2018 at Sparks Middle School at 5 p.m. 
    • February 5, 2019 at Swope Middle School at 5 p.m. 
    • March 5, 2019 at Depaoli Middle School at 5 p.m. 
    • May 7, 2018 at Billinghurst Middle School at 5 p.m.

Award Recipients



    February 5, 2019 Recipients Swope Middle School

    WCSD Exceptional Volunteers: Constance Jukes, Cindy McFadden, Jennifer Helmholtz, Rebecka Shiles, Sheri Folla, Patricia VonBrandt, and Julie Mercado.  

    Swope Middle School Partner in Education: Heidi Jared, Reno Airport Authority 

    Swope Middle School Outstanding Parent Volunteer Award: Jolene Seidel, and Coty and Denell Wynn 

    Swope Middle School Essay Winners: Macy Cope, Abigail Herrick, Malcolm Richmond, Morgan Jay, Syndee O'Bryan, Carter Southam, and Weston Raydon. 

    Swope Middle School Staff Excellence: Matt Garrison (Site Facilities Coordinator), Susie Olano (Administrative Secretary), Teri Malcolm (PE Teacher), Krissi Hadley (Science Teacher), Tami Price (Leadership and Drama Teacher), Tracy Shannon (Culinary Arts Teacher), and Anne Marie Hoppe (ELA Teacher) 

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program here

    December 20, 2018 Recipients Sparks Middle School (Rescheduled from Dec. 4 due to weather)

    Sparks Middle School Exceptional Partners in Education: Cashell Enterprises, Keller Williams Realty, Sparks Christian Fellowship, Western Nevada Supply, Micone Staffing, Boys and Girls Club of Northern Nevada, Jim and Cindy Schnieder, Greater Nevada Credit Union, and Food Bank of Northern Nevada.

    Sparks Middle School Exceptional Community Volunter: Roy Marchbanks

    Sparks Middle School Staff Excellence: Nancy Berdrow (Counselor)

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program here.

    October 16, 2018 Recipients Dilworth Middle School

    Exceptional Dilworth Volunteer: Brandy Cook

    Staff Excellence Awards: Lupe Gutierrez (Site Facilities Coordinator), Felix Vides (Night Custodian), Samuel Valdez (Custodial Lead), Jorge Hernandez Estrada (Night Custodian), Maria Berumen (Administrative Secretary), Sara Garcia (Registrar), Dena Bodecker (Family and Community Engagement Liaison), Victoria Lamas (Attendance Clerk), and Kelly Mitchell (PE Teacher). 

    Home Visit Recognition: Kelly Mitchel (Home Visit Coordinator) 

    WCSD Exceptional Volunteers: Bill Kendall, Irene Gallon, and Doug Smithson 

    Dilworth STEM Academy Partners: UNR, Redfield Foundation and Community Outreach, Northern Nevada Medical Center, Desert Research Institute, and Sparks Christian Fellowship

    Student Recognition: Valeria Hernandez Najera, Gaby Lara Calzada, Amer Carroll, and Jade Tavares 

     For a complete list of honorees, view our program here

    September 4, 2018 Recipients Mt. Rose K - 8

    Staff Excellence Awards: Silvia Antelo Ibarra, Administrative Assistant and Stephanie Johal, Kitchen Manager 

    Staff Excellence/AVID/Student Growth: Virginia Briggs 

    Exceptional Mt. Rose Volunteers: Glenna Smith, Teresa Hunsaker, Wade Wilson, and Millie Augello 

    21st Century Teacher Practitioners: Janelle Mousel, Elyse Sambrano, and Joy Oates 

    Two-Way Immersion Teachers: Joy Oates, Didana Martinez, Guadalupe Suarez, Esperanza Ramos, Kristen Jackson, Ana Lorena Sanchez, and Julio Sieiro 

    Overall School Achievement and Excellence Awards: Levi Watson, Julio Sieiro, Margie Dean, and Robyn Carlson 

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program here

  • May 1, 2018 Recipients 

    Exceptional Volunteer Award: Clement (Joe) Simons, Stead Elementary School and Shelby Thistlewhite, Gifted and Talented Education

    O'Brien Staff Excellence: Shawna Hanneman, Melisa Baskin, Rita Kim Ingersoll, Adilene Martineze, and Sara Vega 

    Student Leadership Awards: Amyr Crispin Ramirez, Paris Acosta, Victoria Gomez Meza, and Mariana Alquiza 

    Unified Sports: Jarret Rank, Breanna Stack, Caleb Mang, Kaitlynne Williams 

    Class Act: Scarlett Metcalfe-McCain, Grace Warner Elementary School 

    Excellence in Education: Marci Reagan-Nystrom, Grace Warner Elementary School and Leah Ann Charles, Spanish Springs Elementary School 

    Someone 2 Know: Teresa Graham and Lucienne Wellman, Spanish Springs Elementary School 

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program and insert 

    View the winners of the Employee of the Year here

    March 6, 2018 Recipients 

    Exceptional Volunteer Award: Larry Woods, Nancy Gomes Elementary School 

    Cold Springs Staff Excellence: Darcy Magnaghi, Clinical Aide

    Cold Springs Exceptional Volunteer: Donna Selin and Michele DeCremer 

    Peace Grant Recognition: Beth Schroeder and Colleen Tuttle 

    21st Century Teacher Leaders: Holly Birch and Elizabeth Curtis 

    Excellence in Education: Amanda Seaton, Dodson Elementary School 

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program 

    February 6, 2018 Recipients 

    Exceptional Volunteer Awards: Rebecca Coleman, Hug High School and Maria Lopez, Bennett Elementary School 

    Traner Staff and Volunteer Excellence: Coach Al Davis and Social Studies Teacher Nancy Burbank 

    Human Services Network Student Award: Erynn Dardy, Hug High School 

    Traner Community Partner Awards: Reno Councilman Oscar Delgado, the Darryl Feemster Teen Center, Renown Health, and Hometown Health 

    For a complete list of honorees, view our program


    December 5, 2017 Recipients 

    Exceptional Volunteer Award: Nikki Hutcherson, Reno High School 

    7th Annual Holiday Card Contest Competition: Erika Garcia, 7th Grade, Billinghurst Middle School 

    Clayton Staff Excellence: Jenny Salls, Teacher and Lisa Atkerson, Kitchen Manager 

    Excellence in Education, Melanie Graber, Teacher, Elmcrest Elementary School 

    For a complete list of student honorees, view our program


    November 7, 2017 Recipients  

    Honoring Veterans and Heroes: Col. Ray Johnson (Ret) Mendive Middle School Librarian and 1st Lt Ken McCarthy (Ret) Mendive Middle School Language Arts Teacher 

    Mendive Staff Excellence: Ms. Cathy Semenko, teacher 

    Parent Home Teacher Project Awards: Traner Middle School, Alice Smith Elementary School, and Lemmon Valley Elementary School 

    Exceptional Volunteer: Sue LeClair, Diedrichsen Elementary School 

    For a complete list of student honorees, view our program. 


    October 17, 2017 Recipients 

     Class Act Award: Jocelyn De La Torre, 8th Grader at Dilworth STEM Academy 

     Excellence in Education: Jessica Mansfield, teacher at Dilworth STEM Academy 

     Volunteer Service Award Kathie Goldberg, Incline Schools 


    September 5, 2017 Recipients 

     Class Act Award: Joko Cailles 

     Superintendent Cup: Wooster High School JROTC 



    Check out photos from previous Spotlight ceremonies on our Facebook page!