Zoning Advisory Committee

  • Mission Statement

    As a committee to the Board of Trustees, the function of the Zoning Advisory Committee is to make school attendance zone recommendations to the Superintendent and Board of Trustees. 


    Current Issues 

    As the Washoe County School District begins the process of building new schools, the Zoning Advisory Committee is looking at potential changes to school attendance zoning. This year, 2020-21, the Committee will continue will begin looking at changing attendance zones for all District high schools and other schools as needed. All meetings are open to the public and public comment is encouraged and welcomed. 

    Look up your address and see your current and future school attendance zone by visiting our Data Gallery Map

Upcoming Public Meetings

  • Meetings begin at 5:30 p.m. on the 3rd Thursday of the month during the school year.  Meeting of the Zoning Advisory Committee are generally held at a school site where changes to attendance zones may occur.


    Members of the public may submit public comment via email to Zoning@washoeschools.net.


    The meetings for the 2021-22 School Year are scheduled for:

    • September 16, 2021
    • October 21, 2021
    • November 18, 2021
    • December 16, 2021
    • January 20, 2022
    • February 17, 2022
    • April 21, 2022
    • May 19, 2022
    • June 16, 2022


    Meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change; please see the posted agenda for specific information on the meeting calendar page.

    Current and past meeting materials, including agendas, meeting packets, meeting minutes, and audio recordings are available in the Zoning Advisory Committee Meeting Archive.



    Committee Composition 

    The voting membership of the Zoning Advisory Committee consists of thirteen (13) members as follows

    • Seven (7) members – one (1) selected by each member of the Board of Trustees, representing the election district of the Trustees
    • Three (3) Parent/Guardian or other Community members selected through the District’s application process
    • Three (3) School Site Staff Members selected through the District’s application process
      • One (1) School Administrator
      • One (1) Certified Teacher/Counselor
      • One (1) Educational Support Staff Member




    Natalie Ghysels, Trustee Zone A Representative  

    June 30, 2022

    Polly Boardman, Trustee Zone B Representative

    June 30, 2023

    Kristen DeHaan, Trustee Zone C Representative

    June 30, 2022

    Tyler Rogers, Trustee Zone D Representative

    June 30, 2023

    Araceli Martinez, Trustee Zone E Representative

    June 30, 2022

    Christine Hull, Trustee Zone F Representative

    June 30, 2023

    Kristie Essa, Trustee Zone G Representative

    June 30, 2022

    Lauren Rushing, At-Large Member

    June 30, 2023

    Caylin Campbell, At-Large Member

    June 30, 2022

    Adriana Publico, At-Large Member

    June 30, 2023

    Amy Howe, School Administrator

    June 30, 2022

    VACANT, Certified Teacher/Counselor

    June 30, 2023

    Brooke Snyder, Educational Support Staff

    June 30, 2023