Group Insurance Committee

  • Mission Statement

    The purpose of the Group Health Insurance Committee is to oversee the activities of and to recommend to the Board of Trustees policy for the Washoe County School District’s self-insured medical and dental programs referred to as the District’s Group Health Insurance Plan and the Plan’s funding instrument referred to as the Group Health Plan Insurance Trust Fund as authorized by the Board of Trustees. The Committee follows the provisions of Nevada Revised Statues Chapter 287 and operates in accordance with Board Policy 4110, Talent Acquisition.

Meetings & Archive

  • Click here to access the meeting archive.


    The Group Insurance Committee generally meets on the 4th Wednesday of the month.  Meetings of the Committee are held in the Board Room of the Central Administration Building at 4:00 p.m.


    The meeting schedule* for the Group Insurance Committee for the 2023-24 School Year is:


    • Wednesday, July 26, 2023
    • Wednesday, August 23, 2023
    • Wednesday, September 27, 2023
    • Wednesday, October 25, 2023
    • Wednesday, November 29, 2023
    • Wednesday, December 20, 2023
    • Wednesday, January 24, 2024
    • Wednesday, February 28, 2024
    • Wednesday, March 20, 2024
    • Wednesday, April 24, 2024
    • Wednesday, May 22, 2024
    • Wednesday, June 26, 2023


    *Meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change; please see the posted agenda for specific information on the meeting calendar page.


    Members of the public may submit public comment to


  • The Group Insurance Committee consists of 10 voting members, 9 of whom are selected by the appropriate employee association and/or Superintendent.



    Term Ends

    Teacher (Certified Staff)

    Robert Munson, Chair


    Teacher (Certified Staff)

    Dawn Etcheverry


    Counselor (Certified Staff)

    Rachel Drake


    Health Services (Certified Staff)

    Vickie Cooper


    Education Support Professional (Classified Staff)

     Joseph Silveira


    School Principal/Administrator

    Mike Dixon


    Professional Technical Administrators/Psychologist

    Tony McMillen


    School Police Officer

    Eric Diamond


    Non-Represented Management Employee

    Jeff Bozzo, Vice Chair



    Mary Beth Akers

    June 30, 2025


Contact Us

    Members of the public wishing to request information related to the Insurance Committee, to include supporting materials for a meeting, or who are disabled and require special accommodations at a meeting, should contact the Committee Secretary:
    Veronica Cordova, Insurance Committee Secretary
    425 East 9th Street, Reno 89512
    Phone: 775-333-3790